Every function has an inverse in the trigonometry. This operation inverses the function, so the cotangent becomes inverse cotangent through this method. Then, the inverse cotangent is used khổng lồ evaluate the degree value of the angle in the triangle(right-angled) when the sides opposite to and adjacent to the angles are known.

Bạn đang xem: Arccot formula ( inverse cotangent) with a detailed example

So each trigonometric function has an inverse. Below are the six trigonometric functions.


The inverse of these trigonometric functions are as follows:

inverse sine (or) arcsineinverse cosine (or) arccosinverse tangent (or) arctaninverse secant (or) arcsecinverse cosecant (or) arccscinverse cotangent (or) arccot

The inverse of Cotangent is also denoted as arccot or Cot-1.

The Formula for arccot is:

If in a triangle, the base of the angle A is 1 & the perpendicular side is √3.

So, cot-1 (1/√3) = A

cot A = 1/√3

cot A = cot 60°

A = 60°

Table values of arccot

The below table shows the values of arccot.

Solved Examples

Example 1: If x = cot-1(-√3/3), then what is the value of x?

Solution:Given,x = cot-1(-√3/3)We know that cot 2π/3 = -√3/3x = cot-1(cot 2π/3)Therefore, x = 2π/3 or x = 120°

Example 2: Find the value of A if A = cot-1(-1).

Xem thêm: Làm Sao Để Bấm Cot Trên Máy Tính, Cách Bấm Cot Trên Máy Tính Hay Nhất

Solution:Given,A = cot-1(-1)We know that cot 3π/4 = -1A = cot-1(cot 3π/4)Therefore, A = 3π/4 = 135°

Register at BYJU’S khổng lồ learn more trigonometrical concepts.

FORMULAS Related Links
Volume Of TetrahedronRegular Hexagon Angles
Relative Refractive Index FormulaTank Volume Formula
Lagrange InterpolationFriction Loss Formula
Logarithm FormulasMoment Of Inertia Formulas For Different Shapes
Empirical FormulaFormula For Rpm

Leave a comment Cancel reply

Your smartphone number and email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send OTP


Grade/ExamClass 1Class 2Class 3Class 4Class 5Class 6Class 7Class 8Class 9Class 10Class 11Class 12IASCATBank ExamGATE

GradeClass 1Class 2Class 3Class 4Class 5Class 6Class 7Class 8Class 9Class 10Class 11Class 12IASCATBank Exam